Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Janet Frame: A chronology

Janet Frame 1924-2004
Photo: Karen Day
1924 Janet Paterson Frame is born in Dunedin, New Zealand
1943 – 1946 Studies at the University of Otago (English, French, Philosophy, Psychology)
1946 Publishes first adult story, ‘University Entrance’ in the New Zealand Listener
1952 The Lagoon and Other Stories published, wins Hubert Church Award for Prose
1957 Publishes first novel, Owls Do Cry
Signs with AM Heath literary agency, London, and Brandt & Brandt literary agency, New York
1958 Changes her name by deed poll to Nene Janet Paterson Clutha and reserves the name Janet Frame for her writing
1961 Faces in the Water (novel)
1962 The Edge of the Alphabet (novel)
1963 Scented Gardens for the Blind (novel)
The Reservoir: Stories and Sketches
Snowman, Snowman: Fables and Fantasies (stories)
1965  Robert Burns Fellow, University of Otago
The Adaptable Man (novel)
1966 A State of Siege (novel)
The Reservoir and Other Stories
1967  Residency at Yaddo Artists’ Community, Saratoga Springs, New York
The Pocket Mirror (poetry)
1968 The Rainbirds also known as Yellow Flowers in the Antipodean Room (novel)
1969 Residency at Yaddo
MacDowell Fellow, MacDowell Colony, New Hampshire
Mona Minim and the Smell of the Sun (children’s book)
1970 Residency at Yaddo
Intensive Care (novel)
1972 President of Honour, The New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN New Zealand Inc)
Daughter Buffalo (novel)
1974  Katherine Mansfield Fellow, Menton, France
1977 Gives paper at Cross-cultural Conference, East-West Centre, Hawaii
Guest of Honour, International PEN Congress, Sydney
1978 A State of Siege film adaptation by Vincent Ward
Honorary Doctorate of Literature from University of Otago
1979  Living in the Maniototo (novel)
1981 Signs with Curtis Brown Literary Agency, London and Sydney
1982 To the Is-land (autobiography volume 1)
1983 CBE (Commander of the British Empire)
You Are Now Entering the Human Heart (stories)
1984 Gives readings at International Authors’ Festival, Toronto
Gives readings at Christchurch Arts Festival
Turnovsky Prize for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts
An Angel at My Table (autobiography volume 2)
1985 The Envoy from Mirror City (autobiography volume 3)
1986 Honorary Foreign Member of American Academy of Arts and Letters
1987 Inaugural Frank Sargeson Fellow
1988 The Carpathians (novel)
1989 The Carpathians wins the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best Book
Omnibus edition of To the Is-land, An Angel at My Table and The Envoy from Mirror City published as An Autobiography (also known at The Complete Autobiography and An Angel at My Table)
1990 Member of the Order of New Zealand (New Zealand's highest honour)
An Angel at My Table film adaptation by Jane Campion
1992 Honorary Doctorate of Literature from University of Waikato
1993 Massey University Medal
Premi Brancati Prize, Italy
1994 President of Honour, The New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN New Zealand Inc)
Gives readings at International Festival of the Arts, Wellington as part of her public 70th Birthday Celebration
1996 Gabriela Mistral Medal, Chile
1999 Janet Frame establishes the Janet Frame Literary Trust
2003 Arts Foundation Icon Award
Inaugural Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement
2004 Janet Frame dies in Dunedin aged 79
2006 The Goose Bath (poems) published posthumously
2007 Janet Frame Literary Trust signs with The Wylie Agency New York and London
The Goose Bath wins the poetry category at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards
Towards Another Summer (novel, written 1963) published posthumously
2008 Storms Will Tell: Selected Poems published posthumously
2009 Prizes: Selected Short Stories also known as The Daylight and the Dust
2010 Dear Charles, Dear Janet: Frame & Brasch in Correspondence (fine edition)
2011 Janet Frame In Her Own Words (collected non-fiction writings)
2012 Gorse is Not People also known as Between My Father and the King (stories) published posthumously
2013 In the Memorial Room (novel, written 1974) published posthumously
The Mijo Tree (story, written 1957) published posthumously
2016 Jay to Bee: Janet Frame’s Letters to William (Bill) Theophilus Brown, 1969-71



Georgia Gal said...

Thanks for this chronology. I will print it out and keep with me so when I go to the library, I will be ready. A prolific and good writer. Can't wait to dig in reading as a nightime treat.

Anonymous said...

always an inspiration!